Enter the book title here

Enter the author's name here

Copy the book’s blurb here
A Good Demon is Hard to Find
Sometimes, a date from hell is just what you need... When Erin thoughtlessly lays a curse on Mark, her cheating ex-husband, she doesn’t expect a well-dressed Great Earl of Hell to show up in her kitchen to fulfill the curse (and make damn good coffee while he’s at it). Andromalius specializes in wickedness and revenge. He’s ready, willing, and able to rain down hell on Erin’s ex—but when Mark announces a hasty new marriage, Erin…

Welcome back everyone, selling a book as being for fans of Lucifer and The Good Place sets some high standards for me since I’m a fan of both shows.

The key thing I felt walking away from this book is that it could have been longer. In places it felt rushed, like the author only had a high-level story to tell with no details fleshed out. Those details are what draws a reader in and keeps them hooked.

I could see both Michael (from The Good Place) and Lucifer (from Lucifer) in Andy although it took me until I finished the book and was thinking about it to realise that. Since I wasn’t actively looking for that kind of similarity between the book and those shows I almost missed it. It wasn’t until I was reflecting on the book wondering how it could be likened to those shows for me to see the connection.

I had fun reading the book the whole time. I couldn’t help but laugh, it was light-hearted and humorous in so many ways. The banter, the brainstorming, the character-arcs, and the unexpected moments between characters. It all made it so enjoyable.

At the same time, those unexpected moments were where I felt it needed fleshing out. Things like a witch popping up out of nowhere. The context behind a witch appearing and how she fit into the story felt off. If there had been some sort of set up that witches might even be included in the world, it may not have felt so weird.

Because it wasn’t set up, I was left reeling and thrown for a few moments. That wasn’t the only time it happened too. They were often small things that all together gave it a sense of needing to be fleshed out, explained and planned.

For a light, fun, laugh out loud read this is something you can knock out in a couple of hours since its less than 250 pages long.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed this review; on Friday I’ll be reviewing Song of the Soul by Lisa Kessler. Continue to read further down to find out about the author.

Author Bio

Kate Moseman is a writer, photographer, and recipe developer who lives in Florida with her family and enjoys going to theme parks as frequently as possible. 

Check out Kate’s social media and Pinterest profiles.

4
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Don’t forget to let me know what you think in the comments below!

Other reviews from this series

Other reviews you may be interested in

#04 Kiss of the Night – Sherrilyn Kenyon

Click to find out what I thought of ancient times, battles and prophecies happening in modern day America where our man is forgotten 5 mins after you walk away. So how does this story work? Click, read, like, comment and share!

Read More »

Leave a comment

4 Replies to “A Good Demon is Hard to Find – Kate Moseman”

    I’m part of a blog tour for this book and I had the exact same thoughts as you! I had a lot of fun while reading it but when the witch popped up and I was like WHO and then I got to the ending and all I could think was WHAT JUST HAPPENED

    1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review:

CommentLuv badge

fill in your details for email notifications: